

For immediate release November 4, 2020

Dan Frangopol Elected to National Academy of Construction

Austin, TX — The National Academy of Construction has elected Dan Frangopol, the inaugural holder of the Fazlur R. Khan Endowed Chair of Structural Engineering and Architecture at Lehigh University, as a member of its class of 2020. His induction occurred on October 29 during the NAC annual meeting, which was held online.

During the induction ceremony, NAC cited Frangopol for election for "significant contributions to scientific knowledge and as a world-renowned pioneer, expert, and leader in the field of life-cycle cost, safety, and optimal management of civil infrastructure."

Wayne Crew, General Secretary of the Academy said, "The 2020 class undoubtedly strengthens the Academy membership. Their career achievements, collectively, broaden NAC's wealth of experience. We're honored that the entire class of 2020 is now part of our NAC membership."

Other new members for 2020 include: Chinemelu Anumba, Michael Bellaman, Richard Cellon, Andrew Ciancia, Luther Cochrane, John Cryer III, Ray Daddazio, Bob Dawson, Eric Dean, Stuart Eckblad, Frank Falciani, Aminah Fayek, James Garrett, Michael Goddu, Paul Goodrum, David Goodyear, and Doug Gransberg.

Also elected to the Academy were: Ronnie Hakim, Mark Handley, Manish Kothari, John Lawson II, Hai Lew, Scott Lynn, Eric Macfarlane, Craig Martin, Ron May, Deryl McKissack, Scott McNary, Bill O'Brien, David O'Connor, Tom Sawyer, Joe Schroedel, Joe Sellers, Jr., and JT Taylor.

Election criteria for NAC include leadership, exceptional service, a continued commitment to making a contribution, past recognition by peers for innovation, and being recognized as "best of the best."

Frangopol's approach to engineering integrates life-cycle cost, safety, and optimal management of civil infrastructure. He was named a Distinguished Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) in 2010, noting his work "has not only saved time and money, but very likely also saved lives." He has been elected to the Academy of Europe, the Royal Academy of Belgium, the Engineering Academy of Japan, and the Romanian Academy. He has been recognized with several awards from ASCE, including the Newmark, Freudenthal, Housner, and Croes medals; the Ang, Howard, Moisseiff, and Lifetime Achievement in Education (OPAL) awards; and the Noble, Reese, and Wellington Prizes. Frangopol is the founding president of the International Association for Bridge Maintenance and Safety (IABMAS) and the International Association for Life-Cycle Civil Engineering (IALCCE). He also is the founding editor-in-chief of *Structure and Infrastructure Engineering*, a leading peer-reviewed journal.

The National Academy of Construction, established in 1999, is an organization of industry leaders that recognizes those who have made outstanding, life-long contributions to the design and construction industry. For more information on this press release, contact Rusty Haggard at 512/557-7672 or email rhaggard99@amail.com.